I got my hair cut yesterday.

I like getting my hair cut. It’s the only time I can read an entire magazine article when I sit under the dryer without being interrupted.

One magazine featured an essay contest that I considered entering. The only problem is, I can’t decide what to write about. The contest asks, “What is the most important day of your life?”

Geez. No pressure.

The day I got married, and changed my last name, starting a new life? The day I became a mother, realizing I’m now responsible for shaping the life of somebody else? The day I nearly missed being hit head-on by a wrong-way driver on 465? I swerved to the shoulder, and the driver hit the car behind me. Three people died.

I don’t know how someone can answer that question. There are many. After some thinking, I came up with this.

I don’t have one.

Not JUST one, anyway. Maybe today, right now, is the best day of my life. Because no one is guaranteed any tomorrows.

