Everyone remembers where they were when they heard the news of the terrorist attacks on 9-11. It became the title of Alan Jackson’s song, “Where Were You When the World Stopped Turning?” weeks later.

I remember.

I was on the air at the time. We saw the first plane, thinking it was a horrible accident. Then, during my newscast, I saw the second plane hit when I looked up at the tv monitor. We all knew then that life had forever changed.

After an extended-hour morning show broadcast, I left the station and drove to my parents home, where Mom was caring for 7-week-old Griffin. All morning, I had the urge to get to Griff and hug him. And there he was, being held in Mom’s arms, with tears streaming down her cheeks. She had been watching the news footage.

I will never forget that image.

I also will never forget the voicemail a young newlywed left for her husband when she realized she was trapped in one of the Twin Towers. Or the desperate look on the faces of relatives searching for loved ones at Ground Zero.

Just as I remember my first childhood friend, my first date, and my first attempt to shave my legs (I shaved my arms, too…why?), I will always remember where I was on 9-11.

